Citizen Science

Citizen Science, also known as crowd science or volunteer monitoring, gives non-scientists a meaningful way to contribute to scientific research.

The Wytham Woods team are currently creating a range of activities so that permit holders can become involved in ecological monitoring. Projects investigating bee, butterfly, ladybird and tree phenology – the study of how the biological world times natural events – are currently under development. You can tell us about any of the wildlife you see at Wytham by using our iRecord smartphone app.

We have recently introduced regular guided 'Bumblebee Walks', where you will complete surveys of bees found along designated 'transects', which are certain areas within the Woods. You can find these listed on our events page, and the full list of dates is below.

If you wish to complete a bee transect on your own, you can collect equipment from outside the Conservator's Office in the Sawmill Yard; we have tote bags with everything you need inside; including identification guides, recording sheets.

You can also complete butterfly transects and log your results on www.ukbms.org.

We are also part of the exciting new intiative which is Oxford Plan Bee, a project to provide a window into the world of our city’s solitary bees.

Citizen Science Walks:

Sat 20 April - Bees, Wildflowers, Butterflies

Sat 27 April - Butterflies

Sun 5 May - Butterflies

Sun 12 May - Bees, Wildflowers, Butterflies

Sun 19 May - Bees & Wildflowers

Sun 9 June - Bees, Wildflowers, Butterflies

Sun 16 June - Bees & Wildflowers

Sat 22 June - Butterflies

Sun 7 July - Bees, Wildflowers, Butterflies

Sun 14 July - Wildflowers

Sat 20 July - Bees

Sun 28 July - Bees

Sat 3 Aug - Bees & Butterflies

Sun 4 Aug - Bees & Wildflowers

Sat 10 Aug - Bees & Butterflies

Sun 18 Aug - Bees & Wildflowers

Sun 8 Sept - Bees & Wildflowers

Sun 22 Sept - Bees & Wildflowers

Sun 6 Oct - Bees & Wildflowers

 

iRecord


DOWNLOAD APP

Contact us


Nigel Fisher
Conservator of Wytham Woods

+44 (0)1865 7 26832

wytham.woods@admin.ox.ac.uk

List of site pages